ABOUT

The exhibition "The Manhattan Darkroom" was created in 2013 by Vincent Montana with the collaboration of curators François Cheval and Audrey Hoareau. This exhibition has made known and popularized throughout the world the unprecedented work of photographer Henri Dauman.

Learn more about the photographer.

THE COLLECTION

The photographic background "The Manhattan Darkroom" represents more than 200 unpublished photographs, in single print. It's now accessible to the acquisition for collectors or simply lovers of photography.

 

Learn more about the collection ...

THE MANHATTAN DARKROOM

HENRI DAUMAN PHOTOGRAPHS

Official website of the exhibition "The Manhattan Darkroom - Henri Dauman, Photographs". 
Production Vincent Montana, Curators François Cheval and Audrey Hoareau.
The Manhattan Darkroom - © COMPANY EUROPEA & ASSOCIATES - 2014 / 2024

Photographs ©  Henri Dauman - all rights reserved
Email : contact@manhattan-darkroom.com

THE EXHIBITION

CURATORS

The exhibition "The Manhattan Darkroom" was inaugurated on November 4, 2014 at the Palais d'Iéna in Paris after 10 months of development between Paris and New York. There were nearly 18,000 visitors in a few days. She was the center of attention at the Paris Photo exhibition and collected more than 200 press articles around the world.

This exhibition was also hosted at the Musée Nicéphore Nièpce and in other venues.

The exhibition was created at the initiative of  Vincent Montana  who called on the exhibition curators specialized in the history of photography François Cheval and Audrey Hoareau.

This exhibition was supervised by photographer  Henri Dauman.

VINCENT MONTANA

Producer and designer of the exhibition
The Manhattan Darkroom

 

Vincent Montana has been a radio presenter, business leader, cinema studio man , event specialist and exhibition producer since 1987.

After university courses in Art History and Visual Communication Techniques, he created "Mediapolis, International Days of Image and Communication", an image festival with Warner Bros. The Walt Disney Company or the french satiric newspaper "le Canard Enchaîné" and the first Harcourt exhibition. On this occasion, he made the public rediscover Georges Méliès and Emile Reynaud, two genius precursors in film.

In the early 90s, he joined the famous man of Media, Yves Mourousi at Radio Monte Carlo as presenter of the show "The Gift of Jazz". Subsequently, he was called by Michel Bassi to join the SFP (French Movie and TV Production Company) to promote the company in the context of the privatization of film and television studios owned by the French governement.

In 1996, he left for New York and became a consultant to set up businesses in the United States. It was during this period that he met Henri Dauman

A few months after September 11, 2001, he returned to France to advise Alain Juillet, new president of Marks & Spencer in full national closure.

From 2003, he created Company Europea & associates for the creation of "one shot" events for companies or sports organizations.

In 2013, he set up the exhibition project "The Manhattan Darkroom, Henri Dauman Photographies" which will be inaugurated on November 4, 2014 at the Palais d'Iéna in Paris.


He is co-author of the book "The Manhattan Darkroom" with François Cheval and Audrey Hoareau.

 

FRANÇOIS CHEVAL

Curator

The Manhattan Darkroom

Trained in history and ethnology, François Cheval has served as a museum curator since 1982.

From 1996 to 2016, he directed the Nicéphore Niépce museum in Chalon-sur-Saône. There, he undertakes to rid photography of its presuppositions and to present the originality of the "photographic" through a renewed museography and speech.

In the continuity of projects developed outside museums, he continues his activities as artistic director (founder of the BMW residence, HSBC Prize for Photography) and curator (MuCEM for Marseille-Provence 2013, Pavillon Populaire de Montpellier, PhotoEspaña, Rencontres d'Arles, etc.).

He is in charge of the 2017 edition of the Mérignac Photographic Festival. François Cheval is the co-founder and co-director of the new Lianzhou Museum of Photography, the first public museum dedicated to photography in China.

He leads The Red Eye which is to promote, defend and promote photography in all its forms. This project-driven organization, born in 2016, offers exhibitions, events or collaborations in France or abroad, addressing all types of places and publics.

 

AUDREY HOAREAU

Curator

The Manhattan Darkroom

After graduate studies in communication and work of the exhibition, Audrey Hoareau began his career at Nicéphore Niepce Museum of Chalon-sur-Saône in 2004. She leads several studies on funds: stereoscopic photography, industrial and contemporary collections. She assists François Horse in the preparation of exhibitions "monographic" especially the retrospective Peter Knapp in 2008 and André Steiner exhibition in 2011.

She recently participated in the organization in China International Photography Festival Lianzhou 2012 and is co-curator of a cycle of four exhibitions at MuCEM museum for Marseilles-Provence 2013, European Capital of Culture.

She is co-curator of the exhibition The Manhattan Darkroom - Henri Dauman since September 2013.

She now works with François Cheval and co-leads the Red Eyes structure.

À PROPOS

L'exposition "The Manhattan Darkroom" a été créée en 2013 par Vincent Montana avec la collaboration des commissaires d'exposition François Cheval et Audrey Hoareau. Cette exposition a permis de faire connaitre et populariser à travers le monde le travail inédit du photographe Henri Dauman. 

En savoir plus sur le photographe.

BE 

COL

LEC

TOR

Devenez collectionneur 

d'une oeuvre unique 

de l'un des maîtres

de la photography 

contemporaine

LA COLLECTION

Le fond photographique The manhattan Darkroom représente plus de 200 photographies inédites, en tirage unique. Il est aujourd'hui accessible à l'acquisition pour les collectionneurs ou simplement les amoureux de la photographie.

 

En savoir plus sur la collection...

THE MANHATTAN DARKROOM

HENRI DAUMAN PHOTOGRAPHIES

Site officiel de l'Exposition "The Manhattan Darkroom - Henri Dauman, Photographies". 
Production Vincent Montana, Commissariat d'exposition François Cheval et Audrey Hoareau.
The Manhattan Darkroom - © COMPANY EUROPEA & ASSOCIATES - 2014 / 2024

Photographies ©  Henri Dauman - all rights reserved
Email : contact@manhattan-darkroom.com

LES

COMMISSAIRES

L'exposition "The Manhattan Darkroom" a été inaugurée le 4 novembre 2014 au Palais d'Iéna à Paris après 10 mois d'élaboration entre Paris et New York. Il y a eu près de 18 000 visiteurs en quelques jours. Elle a été au centre de toutes les attentions pendant le salon " Paris Photo" et a recueillie plus de 200 articles de presse à travers le monde.

Par la suite, cette exposition a été accueillie au Musée Nicéphore Nièpce et dans d'autres itinérances.

Elle a été créée à l'initiative de Vincent Montana qui a fait appel aux commissaire d'exposition spécialistes de l’histoire de la photographie François Cheval et Audrey Hoareau.

Cette exposition a été supervisée par le photographe Henri Dauman.

VINCENT MONTANA

Producteur et concepteur de l'exposition

The Manhattan Darkroom

 

Vincent Montana a été tour à tour animateur radio, chef d'entreprise, homme de cinéma, spécialiste de l'événementiel et producteur d'exposition depuis 1987.

Après des formations en Histoire de l'art et en techniques visuelles de communication, il crée "Mediapolis, journées Internationales de l'image et de la communication", festival d'images avec Warner Bros. The Walt Disney Company ou le Canard Enchainé et la première exposition Harcourt. A cette occasion il fait redécouvrir au public Georges Méliès et Emile Reynaud, deux précurseurs de génie dans le cinéma.

Au début des années 90, il rejoint  Yves Mourousi à Radio Monte Carlo comme animateur de l'émission "Le don du Jazz". Par la suite, il est appelé par Michel Bassi pour rejoindre la SFP (Société Française de Production) afin de s'occuper de valoriser l'entreprise dans le cadre de la privatisation des studios de Cinéma et de Télévision détenues par l'Etat. 

En 1996, il part aux Etats-Unis et devient consultant pour implanter des entreprises sur le sol américain. C'est à cette période qu"il fait la connaissance d'Henri Dauman

Quelques mois après le 11 septembre 2001, il revient en France pour conseiller Alain Juillet, nouveau président de Marks & Spencer en pleine fermeture nationale.

A partir de 2003, il crée Company Europea & associates pour la création d'événements "one shot" auprès de grandes entreprises ou d'organisations sportives.

En 2013, il monte le projet  d'exposition "The Manhattan Darkroom, Henri Dauman Photographies"qui sera inaugurée le 4 novembre 2014 au Palais d'Iéna à Paris.

Il est co-auteur du livre "The Manhattan Darkroom" avec François Cheval et Audrey Hoareau.

Voir la Bio de Vincent Montana   la Bio de François Cheval  la Bio de  Audrey Hoareau

 

FRANÇOIS CHEVAL

Commissaire d'exposition

The Manhattan Darkroom

Formé à l’histoire et à l’ethnologie, François Cheval a exercé la fonction de conservateur de musées depuis 1982.

 

De 1996 à 2016, il dirige le musée Nicéphore Niépce à Chalon-sur-Saône. Là, il entreprend de débarrasser la photographie de ses présupposés et de présenter l’originalité du «photographique» à travers une muséographie et un discours renouvelés.

 

Dans la continuité des projets développés à l’extérieur des musées, il poursuit ses activités de directeur artistique (fondateur de la résidence BMW, Prix HSBC pour la Photographie) et de commissaire d’expositions (MuCEM pour Marseille-Provence 2013, Pavillon Populaire de Montpellier, PhotoEspaña, Rencontres d’Arles, etc.).

 

Il est en charge de l’édition 2017 du Mérignac Photographic Festival. François Cheval est le co-fondateur et co-directeur du nouveau Lianzhou Museum of Photography, premier musée publique dédié à la photographie en Chine.

Il dirige The Red Eye qui a pour objet de promouvoir, défendre et valoriser la photographie sous toutes ses formes. Cette structure porteuse de projets, née en 2016, propose des expositions, événements ou collaborations en France ou à l’étranger, s’adressant à tout type de lieux et de publics.

Voir la Bio de Vincent Montana   la Bio de François Cheval  la Bio de  Audrey Hoareau

 

AUDREY HOAREAU

Commissaire d'exposition

The Manhattan Darkroom

Après des études supérieures en communication et métiers de l’exposition, Audrey Hoareau débute sa carrière au Musée Nicéphore Niépce de Chalon-sur-Saône en 2004. Elle mène plusieurs études sur les fonds : photographie stéréoscopique, industrielle et collections contemporaines. Elle assiste François Cheval dans la préparation d’expositions monographiques notamment la rétrospective Peter Knapp en 2008 et l’exposition André Steiner en 2011.

 

Dernièrement, elle a participé à l’organisation en Chine du Festival international de la photographie deLianzhou 2012 et est co-commissaire d'un cycle de quatre expositions au MuCEM dans le cadre de Marseille-Provence 2013, capitale européenne de la culture.

 

Elle est co-commissaire de l'exposition The Manhattan Darkroom- Henri Dauman Dauman depuis Septembre 2013.

Elle travaille aujourd'hui avec François Cheval et co-dirige la structure Red Eyes.

Voir la Bio de Vincent Montana   la Bio de François Cheval  la Bio de  Audrey Hoareau